Customer Reviews

Our customers love our local knowledge and familiarity with the vineyards of Central Otago.  Here’s a small sample of the rave reviews we get on Trip Advisor…

Reviews of Appellation Wine Tours

A really good wine tour

There are many wine tours in New Zealand but this was one of the best. Cellar doors visited may vary but all are informative and entertaining. Lunch is excellent. Highly recommend.

 

Ceri, UK, 17 March 2020

Not just wine!

We spent a great day visiting the region and extended our knowledge base on wines, history and geography thanks to our tour Guide Gary. Luckily for us he was kicked out of London and decided to settle in this magnificent part of the world. It is more than a tour, bit of an excursion really. Highly recommended for an entertaining day out.

 

Geoff, Australia, 13 March 2020

The wine was world class

Great experience. Beautiful scenery and the guide was excellent. He had expert knowledge of the area and the wines of the region.

 

Vivian, New Zealand 28 Feb 2020

Fantastic

We had Gary as our tour guide and he was fantastic! I would highly recommend this wine tour – the entire experience was great and Gary was very knowledgeable. We did several wine tours around New Zealand and this was both mine and my partners favourite.

 

Catherine, California/USA, 20 Feb 2020

Well Worth it!

We took this delightful tour and couldn’t be happier. Martin, our driver & guide was great fun! He had so many interesting facts as he was driving us around. The tour was just the right amount of time, the group was small and diverse but quite friendly. I would highly recommend this tour. Ask for Martin!

 

Kim, Australia, 13 Feb 2020

Delicious wine and food – an outstanding day trip!

We had a marvelous time on this trip. Our day was expertly managed by a knowledgable and charming driver (Gary) who drove us through stunning scenery to 4 vineyards which served excellent wine. Each stop offered 4-5 wines to sample which showcased the wide variety of high quality wine made here. One stop included a 5 dish lunch with wine pairings. The food was gourmet and uniquely prepared using retired wine casks as grills and served on barrel staves. Simply an outstanding day!!

 

Ziva, USA, 12 Feb 2020

Fabulous wine tasting experience

Had a wonderful day with our guide, Mary Ann. Enjoyed all the wineries we visited and every tasting.  We were able to buy something special for our daughter as well as for ourselves. The whole group gelled. The lunch and cheese stops, were exceptional. A thoroughly memorable day.

 

Liz, USA, 12 Feb 2020

What a day

Paul was our knowledgeable guide for this trip and that guy knows his wine and along with a good overall history of the area was the perfect host.  Visited four wineries with lunch at one and all stops were full of information about their wines. At Allan Scott (Scott Base) we got to try their craft beers as a direct replacement for the wine if we wanted.  A stop off at Cromwell where the old mining town was moved 50mts to make way for a new lake for a hydroelectric dam and a well-earned coffee to keep us upright we then headed back to Queenstown.  If you are here do this so you get all the history all the drinks and all the scenery.

 

Karl, Ireland, 31 Jan 2020